The Best Thing EVER to do with Fresh Figs

I know, I know, I’m sure the official answer is just to eat them straight off the tree. But you’ve got to try this combo – it takes the texture and flavor of fresh figs to a new level. I remember this dessert from when I was training under Chef Lynn Walters at the Natural Cafe in Santa Fe (holla!). We’d take Haagen Daaz coffee ice cream, homemade caramel sauce and figs and make a sundae. We probably topped it with walnuts or pecans, but since I am in the home of the filbert these days, I used toasted hazelnuts. It was every bit as good as I’d remembered!!

Fresh Fig Sundae

The recipe for the caramel sauce couldn’t be easier:

Caramel Sauce

4 T. butter, 1 c. heavy cream, 1 1/4 c. brown sugar – melt on low, then simmer on med-low until desired thinkness has been reached, stirring often. I cooked mine about 5 minutes.

***I’ve made a vegan caramel sauce before just by subbing vegan margarine for the butter and soy milk for the cream. The real question is whether there is a quality (as in, doesn’t taste like Folgers) coffee-flavored soy or rice ice cream out there…

Just look at how beautiful these figs are! Seriously, I just want to lick the screen.

2 Comments »

  1. Jamie said

    This couldn’t be more timely. I am getting in the car RIGHT NOW to go pick up some fresh figs from a friend. Awesome.

  2. Vegan Diva said

    Great blog. I found it through the “Related Posts” option in WordPress. Thanks for the heads up about veganizing that carmel sauce. I’m going to have to try that. The only quality coffee-flavored soy ice cream out there in my opinion is made by Chicago Soy Dairy (www.chicagosoydairy.com) but I’m not sure if they are nation-wide yet. I’m in the Detroit area and I find it at Whole Foods. They only sell the coffee flavor in the smaller containers. Another plus is it is made with fair trade coffee šŸ˜€

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

