Food Journal Meal 1, Week 5 (Food, Ethics and Sustainability)

Week 4: Brunch of Bacon and Eggs, Biscuits and Jam

(This is part of my assignment for class, we’ve been documenting two meals per week and detailing where they are created and sustainable topics associated with them – I’m mainly reposting here to include pictures.)

Brunch, Week Four:
Biscuits and Jam, Bacon and Eggs

Bacon and Eggs
Bacon! Really, the only reason that I’m not a vegetarian. And finding Northwest Heritage Pork at the Farmer’s Market last summer was a beautiful thing for me. Here is a locally raised, hormone and nitrate free bacon raised by a company/family/farmer who seems to care about their hogs and to treat them humanely. They also care about their customers, and about providing a quality product. I was so happy to see their booth on the first day of the market this season that I hugged the sales guy. (http://www.nwpork.com/nwpork.html) The point at which I used the last of the hoarded bacon from the freezer this winter was from that day on a bacon-free lifestyle. I won’t buy any other bacon now, even the Niman’s bacon pales in taste comparison. And pricewise, if I buy it 5# at a time, I can get it for $4/lb. What a bargain. For health reasons, I shouldn’t be eating this high fat cholesteral-creating food, but it’s soooooo good. Also delicious on bread with avocado. Mmmmmm.
The eggs are some excellent local eggs, produced from “happy” chickens who “freely roam, perch, preen, dust, and socialize proudly”. Sunrise Fresh Cage Free Large Brown Eggs from Yelm, Washington. (http://www.stiebrsfarms.com, but their website has been down for a week). They have a “Certified Humane Raised and Handled” label on their carton, but I guess anyone can put just about any claim like that on their marketing material. As far as I’ve been able to tell, there isn’t any agency that checks on that. I can definitely taste the difference in a fresh egg vs. an old egg. The cheese and milk in the eggs I’ve reported on before, Tillamook Cheddar and Pacific Village, both from this area. Fresh thyme and oregano from my herb garden. The biscuits were made by me using Bob’s Red Mill flours (some whole wheat graham for fiber, mostly unbleached white) and Crisco shortening. The vegetable oil in Crisco could come from anywhere– there is no information on the product or on the website on even what exact vegetables’ oil is used, probably some combo of corn, soybean, safflower seed and sunflower seed oils. In 2007, Crisco was reformulated so that it contains no transfat. (http://www.crisco.com). Bob’s Red Mill is headquartered here, and the grains are milled in Oregon, but there is no information as to where they are actually grown, and they are not organic and/or GMO free. (http://www.bobsredmill.com/)

Ironically, the jam is made in the Northwest – it’s a blueberry jam made by Maury Island Farm in Kent, Washington.biscuits It’s all natural, preservative free, and tasty. The irony is that I bought this jar of jam in Nashville, TN at least 18 months ago at a TJ Maxx, and moved it along with select other pantry items and the rest of my belongings via Allied Moving Services a year ago. Maury Island Jam started out as a small farmer’s family side business, and although it changed hands, it still appears to be made in small batches by a small company. Must be why it tastes so good! (http://www.goodjam.com/htmldocs/history.htm)

This was a great brunch and the biscuits will be frozen for easy access later.

3 Comments »

  1. Rylee said

    Yum! That bacon looks great! I just may have to make my way over to campus this Saturday to get some for myself. You’re eating the same brand of eggs that I had last week. (This week it’s Safeway Organics. It may be Safeway, but at least it’s organic!) The pictures are such a great idea.
    Peace,
    Rylee from class

  2. lauri said

    i am salivating over those thick, perfectly-cooked pieces of bacon. seriously salivating. slobbering even. heh. and oddly enough, i just read about the reformulation of crisco in vogue magazine, of all places. hmm.

  3. tovorinok said

    Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    G’night

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

